How to set up a personal data project. Part 1, Data Engineering

Eyuel Muse Woldesembet
7 min readOct 27, 2023
Photorealistic image of Tony Bloom in a greek god like style — Stable Diffusion

Back when I was younger and full of foolish dreams, I wanted to be a footballer, cannot even count the amount of hours I wasted trying to be the next Ronaldinho (the real GOAT). But after years of trying, I decided to give up to reality and accept the truth, I was at best, mediocre at the game, but all the experiences lived through those years stayed with me. Especially the locker room dynamics of a football team (I was bad at the game, but decent at analyzing things).
Fast forward some 10 years and I was trying my best to make a career in the field of data. I got started 6 years ago and I love every aspect of it. From the data engineering bits to the data analysis and data science. So as you might have already guessed, it was only a matter of time until my love of football synergised with my love of data.
In this period of my life, I was facing the reality of becoming older. All of my best friends and I had our own lives, lived several km away from one another and we only saw each other a couple of times a quarter. But we managed to keep our relationship alive thanks to our common hobby of watching Premier League games. And of course, we had the brilliant idea of betting on the games to keep it interesting, and we quickly realized that it is funnier when you win.
With that in mind and the desire to learn as much as I can about the full pipeline of data (from…

--

--